Booting openSUSE From USB

I recently could not uninstall FGLRX proper from my Tumbleweed laptop. Now that Factory is getting automated testing towards stability & Tumbleweed is not true rolling release (about 15-20% of packages on top of the latest base.) I decided to wipe & install Factory fresh! I did, however, run into problems getting the live KDE image to install. Firstly the USB stick would not boot. Using UNetbootin & the like damage the SUSE image by trying to make it bootable. The images are already bootable & really just need dd-ing across. Determined to use a GUI I tried Ubuntu’s own utility, but failed, I think this is just meant for official Ubuntu images, if it works at all?!? I then tried ImageWriter, it would not see ISO or IMG files (essentially the same.)  Getting very frustrated, I tried Rufus under Windows, no dice. In the end I hit upon using Gdiskdump, a GUI for dd, it worked perfectly!

This may now be sorted, but installing from the live media images results in some, largely, harmless extra hoops to jump through. It has been advised to install from the DVD iso.

This entry was posted in Computers, Linux and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Holler!!!

